The only day out of the week Jason and I have all three kids is Thursday night, so that has been deemed “family night.” It is also ballet for Mariah and ends up being more hectic than anything. Dance is at 4:15, and the bus drops the big kids off anywhere between 4:02 and 4:09. Yep, I have it down to a science. Before the dance instructor moved locations, the drive to dance was at least 15 minutes, and I HATE being late, so Thursdays got LONG for everybody. Pick kids up at 3:15, go hang out at the library, take Mariah to dance, sit there with the two other kids for an hour who would rather be anywhere but there, and get home around 5:30 and rush to make dinner. Usually Jason has that ready. What a guy. Then, we all fight over a movie to watch. Lulu wants Diego, Mariah wants something with fairies, and Riley wants something scary. I want something heartwarming and cute, Jason wants action. So we fight. I usually win. But last night, we AMPED IT UP! We let the kids ride the bus home and Mariah was a few minutes late for dance. Why? Because we decided to take the kids to the movie theater to see The Croods in 3D. After about 15 minutes, I asked myself why. The 6 year old and the 4 year old wouldn’t keep the 3D glasses on. Have you ever checked out what a 3D movie looks like without the glasses? Well, take my word for it: Blurry. Yeah, I guess you can see what is going on, but if you’re not going to wear the glasses, you are better off at the regular show that is $3 less a person. To do the 3D thing, it’s an extra $15 for us. We don’t go to the movies often, but when we do, we do the 3D thing, and we always ask ourselves why we do the 3D thing. Most of the 3D movies for kids have a few cool scenes and that is it, and the girls don’t keep the glasses on. But the makers of Croods actually did a good job it! And the girls refused to wear the glasses. I just don’t get it. Yes, the glasses are dorky, but our kids are the king and queens of Dorkville. And Mariah wears glasses on a regular basis… why not be extra dorky for an hour and a half and actually be able to see the movie? Riley is smart. He understands 3D movies. I think he always has. And he wears his dorky 3D glasses and enjoys the movie in 3D in all his dorky pride. He got to see all the cool 3D scenes the movie had to offer. And like I said earlier, The Croods did a good job with it. On the way home, all I did was stress. This mommy is a huge bedtime stickler. 7:00 on school nights, 8 on the weekends. That’s it. We always follow that schedule. Last night, we did not. The kids fell asleep on the ride home. They like bedtime too. I kept having to rationalize the lateness to myself. We hardly ever get the chance to take all the kids to the movies. Yes, it’s a late night. Yes, we deserve, as a family, to do something fun once in a while. Weekends are usually out for family fun because we never have all the kids and I work. Then the little anxious voice inside my head tells me I’m a bad mommy and Mariah is going to be tired and get a “yellow” at school tomorrow because she has trouble with her big mouth when her schedule gets messed up. She is me, reincarnated. I was like that. So instead of getting the kids up at 6:15 for the bus, I let them sleep in and brought them to school. Maybe that will help. If Mariah gets a yellow, it’s my fault. I just have to tell myself once in a while, it’s okay to have fun. And I am sure the next time we go to the movies, we will again do the 3D thing, the girls will not wear their dorky glasses, and the boys and I will revel in our dorkiness.

